Readings for the Liturgy of the Hours
 at Mount St. Scholastica:
Summer Ordinary Time 2013, Cycle C, Year 1


Download a printer-friendly version in PDF formation

Readings are taken from the New Revised Standard Version of the Bible. Where there is a difference in verse numbers, NAB refers to the New American Bible.

Seventh Week of Ordinary Time and Third Week of Psalter Begin on May 20th.

DateLiturgical CalendarMorning PraiseEvening Praise
May 19 Pentecost. Sol. OA 1 Cor 12:1-13 Ephesians 1:3-14
May 20 Mon of 7th Week in Ord Time Amos 1:1-8 Philippians 1:1-11
May 21 Tue of 7th Week in Ord Time Amos 2:6-16 Philippians 1:12-18a
May 22 Wed of 7th Week in Ord Time Amos 3:1-8 Philippians 1:18b-30
May 23 Thu of 7th Week in Ord Time Amos 3:9-15 Philippians 2:1-11
May 24 Fri of 7th Week in Ord Time Amos 4:1-5 Philippians 2:12-18
May 25 Venerable Bede. Mem. Amos 4:6-13 John 16:12-15
May 26 Trinity Sunday. Sol Sirach 1:1-10
[old NAB 1:1-8]
Ephesians 3:1-13
May 27 USA: Memorial Day 1 Cor 15:12-28 1 Cor 15:50-58
May 28 Tue of 8th Week in Ord Time Amos 5:1-6, 8-9 Philippians 2:19-3:1
May 29 Wed of 8th Week in Ord Time Amos 5:7, 10-15 Philippians 3:2-16
May 30 Thu of 8th Week in Ord Time Amos 5:18-27 Philippians 3:17-4:3
May 31 Visitation of Mary. Feast. Isaiah 52:7-10 Song 2:8-14
June 1 Dedication of Cathedral. Feast. 1vsp OA 1 Cor 3:10-17 Luke 9:11b-17
June 2 Body and Blood of Christ. Sol. Isaiah 55:1-11 1 Cor 12:12-27
June 3 Charles Lwanga & Comp. Mem. Amos 6:1-1 Philippians 4:4-9
June 4 Tue of 9th Week in Ord Time Amos 7:1-9; 8:1-3 Philippians 4:10-23
June 5 Boniface. Mem. Amos 7:10-17 1 Corinthians 1:1-9
June 6 Thu of 9th Week in Ord Time. 1vsp. Amos 8:4-12 Luke 15:3-7
June 7 Sacred Heart of Jesus. Sol. Isaiah 49:13-16 Romans 8:28-39
June 8 Immaculate Heart of Mary. Mem. Amos 9:1-10 Luke 7:11-17
June 9 Tenth Sunday in Ord Time Acts 9:36-43 Ephesians 2:1-10
June 10 Mon of 10th Week in Ord Time Amos 9:11-15 1 Corinthians 1:10-17
June 11 Tues of 10th Week in Ord Time Hosea 1:1-2:3
[NRSV 1:1-11]
1 Corinthians 1:18-25
June 12 Wed of 10th Week in Ord Time Hosea 2:4-9
[NRSV 2:1-7]
1 Corinthians 1:26-31
June 13 Anthony of Padua. Mem. Hosea 2:10-17
[NRSV 2:8-15]
1 Corinthians 2:1-5
June 14 Fri of 10th Week in Ord Time Hosea 2:18-25
[NRSV 2:16-23]
1 Corinthians 2:6-16
June 15 Sat of 10th Week in Ord Time Hosea 3:1-5 Luke 7:36-8:3
June 16 Eleventh Sunday in Ord Time Jeremiah 31:31-34 Romans 5:1-11
June 17 Mon of 11th Week in Ord Time Hosea 4:1-11a 1 Corinthians 3:1-9
June 18 Tue of 11th Week in Ord Time Hosea 4:11b-16 1 Corinthians 3:10-23
June 19 Romuald. Memorial. Hosea 5:1-7 1 Corinthians 4:1-5
June 20 Thu of 11th Week in Ord Time Hosea 5:8-14 1 Corinthians 4:6-21
June 21 Aloysius Gonzaga. Mem. Hosea 5:15-6:6 1 Corinthians 5:6-13
June 22 Sat of 11th Week in Ord Time Hosea 6:11b-7:7 Luke 9:18-24
June 23 Twelfth Sunday in Ord Time. 1 vsp. Isaiah 53:1-6 Luke 1:57-66, 80
June 24 Nativity of John Baptist. Sol. Malachi 3:1-4, 22-24
[NRSV: Malachi 3:1-4; 4:4-6]
2 Timothy 4:1-5
June 25 Tue of 12th Week in Ord Time Hosea 7:8-16 1 Corinthians 6:1-8
June 26 Wed of 12th Week in Ord Time Hosea 8:1-6 1 Corinthians 7:1-16
June 27 Thurs of 12th Week in Ord Time Hosea 8:7-14 1 Corinthians 7:21-31
June 28 Irenaeus. Mem. 1 vsp. Hosea 9:1-9 Matthew 16:13-19
June 29 Peter and Paul. Sol. 2 vsp. Ephesians 3:1-13 Philippians 1:12-26
June 30 Thirteenth Sunday in Ord Time Jeremiah 1:4-10 Philippians 3:7-14
July 1 Mon of 13th Week in Ord Time Hosea 9:10-17 1 Cor 7:32-35, 39-40
July 2 Tue of 13th Week in Ord Time Hosea 10:1-8 1 Corinthians 8:1-13
July 3 Thomas, Apostle. Feast 1 John 1:1-4 1 Peter 1:3-12
July 4 USA: Independence Day Galatians 5:13-26 Ephesians 4:1-6
July 5 Fri of 13th Week in Ord Time Hosea 10:9-15 1 Corinthians 9:1-14
July 6 Sat of 13th Week in Ord Time Hosea 11:1-7 Luke 10:1-12, 17-20
July 7 Fourteenth Sunday in Ord Time 1 Cor 1:26-2:5 1 Cor 3:5-23
July 8 Mon of 14th Week in Ord Time Hosea 11:8-11 1 Corinthians 9:15-27
July 9 Tue of 14th Week in Ord Time Hosea 12:1-10
[NRSV 11:12-12:9]
1 Corinthians 10:1-13
July 10 Wed of 14th Week in Ord Time Hosea 12:11-13:3
[NRSV 12:10-13:3]
1 Corinthians 10:14-22
July 11 Benedict. Feast Sirach 2:1-11 RB Prol. 39-50
July 12 Fri of 14th Week in Ord Time Hosea 13:4-15 1 Cor 10:23-11:1
July 13 Sat of 14th Week in Ord Time Hosea 14:2-10
[NRSV 14:1-9]
Luke 10:25-37
July 14 Fifteenth Sunday in Ord Time Lev 19:1-3, 9-18 Romans 12:9-21
July 15 Bonaventure. Mem. Micah 1:1-9 1 Corinthians 11:17-22
July 16 Our Lady of Mount Carmel. OptMem. Colossians 1:3-14 Colossians 1:3-14
July 17 Wed of 15th Week in Ord Time Micah 2:1-9 1 Corinthians 11:23-34
July 18 Thu of 15th Week in Ord Time Micah 2:12-3:4 1 Corinthians 12:1-11
July 19 Fri of 15th Week in Ord Time Micah 3:5-12 1 Corinthians 12:12-31
July 20 Sat of 15th Week in Ord Time Micah 4:1-5 Luke 10:38-42
July 21 Sixteenth Sunday in Ord Time Deuteronomy 8:1-3 Philippians 4:4-9
July 22 S. Mary Magdalene. Mem. Micah 4:6-10 1 Corinthians 13:1-13
July 23 Bridget of Sweden. OptMem. Micah 4:11-5:4a [NRSV 4:11-5:5a] 1 Corinthians 14:1-12
July 24 Sharbel Makhluf. OptMem. Micah 5:4b-14
[NRSV 5:5B-15]
1 Corinthians 14:13-25
July 25 James, Apostle. Feast Colossians 1:24-28 Hebrews 12:1-11
July 26 Joachim and Anne. Mem. Sirach 3:1-15 Romans 4:1-12
July 27 Sat of 16th Week in Ord Time Micah 6:1-8 Luke 11:1-13
July 28 Seventeenth Sunday in Ord Time Exodus 32:7-14 James 5:13-20
July 29 Martha, Mary, Lazarus. Mem. Micah 6:9-16 1 Corinthians 15:1-11
July 30 Tue of 17th Week in Ord Time Micah 7:1-6 1 Corinthians 15:12-19
July 31 Ignatius of Loyola. Mem. Micah 7:7-20 1 Corinthians 15:20-34
Aug 1 Alphonsus Ligouri. Mem. Esther 11:2-12:6 (A1-17) 1 Corinthians 15:35-49
Aug 2 Fri of 17th Week in Ord Time Esther 1:1-9 1 Corinthians 15:50-58
Aug 3 Sat of 17th Week in Ord Time Esther 1:10-22 Luke 12:13-21
Aug 4 Eighteenth Sunday in Ord Time Sirach 31:1-11 Job 28:1-28
Aug 5 Mon of 18th Week in Ord Time Esther 2:1-11 1 Corinthians 16:1-12
Aug 6 Transfiguration of the Lord. Feast. 2 Corinthians 4:5-12 1 John 3:1-3
Aug 7 Wed of 18th Week in Ord Time Esther 2:12-23 1 Corinthians 16:13-24
Aug 8 Dominic. Mem. Esther 3:1-13 Galatians 1:1-10
Aug 9 Fri of 18th Week in Ord Time Esther 13:1-7 (B1-7); 3:14-15 Galatians 1:11-24
Aug 10 Lawrence. Feast 1 Peter 3:13-17 Luke 12:32-48
Aug 11 Nineteenth Sunday in Ord Time 1 Corinthians 4:1-5 1 Peter 4:7-11
Aug 12 Jane Frances de Chantal. OptMem. Esther 4:1-17 Galatians 2:1-10
Aug 13 Tue of 19th Week in Ord Time Esth 13:8-18 (C1-11) Galatians 2:11-21
Aug 14 Maximilian Kolbe. Mem. 1vsp. OA Esth 14:1-19 (C12-30) Luke 1:39-56
Aug 15 Assumption of Mary. Sol. Ephesians 1:15-23 1 Thess 4:13-18
Aug 16 Fri of 19th Week in Ord Time Esther 15:1-16 (D1-16) Galatians 3:1-14
Aug 17 Sat of 19th Week in Ord Time Esther 5:1-8 Luke 12:49-53
Aug 18 Twentieth Sunday in Ord Time Philippians 2:1-11 1 Peter 1:3-12
Aug 19 Twentieth Sunday in Ord Time Esther 5:9-14 Galatians 3:15-22
Aug 20 Bernard. Mem. Esther 6:1-13 Galatians 3:23-29
Aug 21 Pius X. Mem. Esther 6:14–7:10 Galatians 4:1-11
Aug 22 Queenship of Mary. Mem. Esther 8:1-12 Galatians 4:12-20
Aug 23 Rose of Lima. OptMem. Esther 16:1-16 (E1-16) Galatians 4:21-31
Aug 24 Bartholomew. Feast Acts 2:43-47 Luke 13:22-30
Aug 25 Twenty-First Sunday in Ord Time Isaiah 56:1-7 Rev 22:12-14, 16-20
Aug 26 Mon of 21st Week in Ord Time Esth 16:17-24 (E17-24); 8:13-17 Galatians 5:1-15
Aug 27 Monica. Mem. Esther 9:1-6 Galatians 5:16-26
Aug 28 Augustine. Mem. Esther 9:11-17a Galatians 6:1-18
Aug 29 Passion of John Baptist. Mem. Esther 9:17b-23 Ephesians 1:1-14
Aug 30 Fri of 21st Week in Ord Time Esther 9:24-10:3 Ephesians 1:15-23
Aug 31 Sat of 21st Week in Ord Time Esther 10:4-13 (F1-11) Luke 14:1, 7-14

*OA means Office of the Abbot in which the Abbot or Prioress serves as prayer leader.
©2013 Benedictine Sisters, Mount St. Scholastica, Inc., Atchison, KS