Two Receive Inaugural Maathai Discovery Awards

The Benedictine Sisters of Mount St. Scholastica have named Benedictine College students Caleb Schmitz and Emily Dyer as winners of the inaugural Maathai Discovery Awards.

The award honors Wangari Maathai, a 1964 graduate of Mount St. Scholastica College who received the Nobel Peace Prize for her work to support democracy, peace and sustainable development in her home country of Kenya. The award, endowed by an anonymous donor and given to two students each year for their projects for the Benedictine College Discovery program, provides a $500 stipend for the student and $500 that can be used for project expenses.

Schmitz is a junior whose project is titled "Life Saving Water." His faculty sponsor is Dr. Chuck Sprouse, Assistant Professor of Engineering.

Dyer is a freshman whose project is titled "Recycling at Benedictine College." Her faculty sponsors are are Dr. Travis Almquist, Assistant Professor of Biology, and Dr. Virginia Winder, Assistant Professor of Biology.

Wangari award 2014-15
Members of the Mount St. Scholastica Wangari Steering Committee posed with the award winners and their faculty sponsors.