Readings for the Liturgy of the Hours
at Mount St. Scholastica

Lent to Pentecost 2017, Cycle A, Year 1

Fourth week of Psalter continues with morning praise on March 1st. 
Verse numbers for Old Testament readings are from NABRE.
Verse numbers for New Testament readings are from NRSV.
Verse numbers may differ between the two translations.

First week of Psalter begins with Evening Praise on March 4th. 

DateLiturgical CalendarMorning PraiseEvening Praise
Mar 1 Ash Wednesday Isaiah 58: 1-14 RB 49. 1-10
Mar 2 Thu after Ash Wednesday Jeremiah 1:1-10 Exodus 1:1-10
Mar 3 Fri after Ash Wednesday Jeremiah 1:11-19 Exodus 1:11-22
- First Week of Psalter begins with Evening Praise on March 4th. - -
Mar 4 Sat after Ash Wednesday Jeremiah 2:1-19 1 Cor 1:18-25
Matthew 4:1-11
Mar 5 First Sunday of Lent Hebrews 4:14-16; 5: 7-10 Philippians 2:10-19
Mar 6 Mon of 1st Week of Lent Jeremiah 2:10-19 Exodus 2:1-10
Mar 7 Tue of 1st week of Lent Jeremiah 3:11-18 Exodus 2:11-22
Mar 8 Wed of 1st week of Lent Jeremiah 3:19-20; 4:1-4 Exodus 2:23-3:14
Mar 9 Frances of Rome OptMem Jeremiah 4:5-10 Exodus 3:15-22
Mar 10 Fri of 1st Week of Lent Jeremiah 4:11-22 Exodus 4:1-17
Mar 11 Sat of 1st Week of Lent Jeremiah 4:23-31 2Cor 4:5-15
Matthew 17:1-9
Mar 12 Second Sunday of Lent 1Kings 19:9b-31a Hebrews 12:18-29
- Novena in honor of Our Holy Father Benedict begins March 12th. - -
Mar 13 Mon of 2nd Week of Lent Jeremiah 5:1-9 Exodus 4:18-31
Mar 14 Tue of 2nd Week of Lent Jeremiah 5:10-19 Exodus 5:1-9
Mar 15 Wed 2nd Week of Lent Jeremiah 5:20-31 Exodus 5:10-23
Mar 16 Thu of 2nd Week of Lent Jeremiah 6:1-9 Exodus 6:1-13
Mar 17 Fri of 2nd Week of Lent Jeremiah 6:10-21 Exodus 6:28-7:7
Mar 18 Sat of 2nd Week of Lent Jeremiah 6:22-30 Isaiah 12:1-6
John 4:5-42
Mar 19 Third Sunday of Lent Sirach 24:19-34 Revelation 22:1-5
Mar 20 Joseph. Sol. Proverbs 3:13-24 Sirach 14:20-15:6
Mar 21 Benedict. Sol. OA Sirach 2:1-18 1 Thess 5:12-24
Mar 22 Wed of 3rd Week of Lent Jeremiah 7:1-15 Exodus 7:8-18
Mar 23 Thu of 3rd Week of Lent Jeremiah 8:18—9:2 Exodus 7:19-29
Mar 24 Fri of 3rd Week of Lent Jeremiah 12: 1-6 Exodus 8:1-11
Mar 25 Annunciation. Sol. 1vsp. Zephaniah 3:14-20 Isaiah 42:1-9
John 9:1-41
Mar 26 Fourth Sunday of Lent Romans 13:8-14 1 John 1:5-10
Mar 27 Mon of 4th Week of Lent Jeremiah 12:7-17 Exodus 8:12-28
Mar 28 Tue of 4th Week of Lent Jeremiah 13:1-14 Exodus 9:1-12
Mar 29 Wed of 4th Week of Lent Jeremiah 14:1-10 Exodus 9:13-26
Mar 30 Thu of 4th Week of Lent Jeremiah 15:10-21 Exodus 9:27-35
Mar 31 Fri 4th Week of Lent Jeremiah 16:1-13 Exodus 10:1-11
Apr 1 Sat of 4th Week of Lent Jeremiah 17:1-11 2 Cor 5:1-10
John 11:1-45
Apr 2 Fifth Sunday of Lent 1Kings 17:17-24 Ephesians 2:1-10
Apr 3 Mon of 5th Week of Lent Jeremiah 17:12-18 Exodus 10:12-23
Apr 4 Tue of 5th Week of Lent Jeremiah 18: 1-12 Exodus 10:24-29
Apr 5 Wed of 5th Week of Lent Jeremiah 19:1-13 Exodus 11:1-10
Apr 6 Thu of 5th Week of Lent Jeremiah 19:14-20:6  Exodus 12:1-13
Apr 7 Fri of 5th Week of Lent Jeremiah 20:7-18 Exodus 12:14-28
Apr 8 Sat of 5th Week of Lent Jeremiah 26:1-19 Zechariah 9:9-10
Matthew 21:1-11
Apr 9 Palm Sunday Isaiah 63:1-4, 7-9 Hebrews 2:10-18
Apr 10 Mon of Holy Week Jeremiah 31:1-6 Exodus 12:29-42
Apr 11 Tue of Holy Week Jeremiah 31:7-14 Exodus 13:1-16
Apr 12 Wed of Holy Week Jeremiah 31:15-20 Exodus 14:1-4
Apr 13 Thu of Holy Week Jeremiah 31:31-37
- Easter Triduum begins with the Evening Mass of the Lord's Supper. - -
Apr 14 Good Friday, OA Romans 5:6-11
Midday: 1 Corinthians 1:21-25
Apr 15 Holy Saturday, OA Romans 8:18-25
Midday: 1 Thessalonians 5:1-11
1 Peter 1:18-21
Apr 16 Easter Sunday, Sol. OA 1 Corinthians 15:1-11 Colossians 1:15-20
- First Week of Psalter Begins April 17th - -
Apr 17 Mon Octave Easter Revelation 1:1-8 1 John 1:1-4
Apr 18 Tue Octave Easter Revelation 1:9-20 1 John 1:5-10
Apr 19 Wed Octave Easter Revelation 2:1-7 1 John 2:1-6
Apr 20 Thu Octave Easter Revelation 2:8-11 1John 2:7-11
Apr 21 Fri Octave Easter Revelation 2:12-17 1 John 2:12-17
Apr 22 Sat Octave Easter Revelation 2:18-29 1 Cor 15:12-19
John 20:19-31
Apr 23 Second Sunday of Easter 1 Cor 15:20-28 1 Cor 15:35-44a
Apr 24 Mon of 2nd Week of Easter Revelation 3:1-6 1 John 2:18-27
Apr 25 Mark, Evangelist, Feast. 1 Cor 1:18-25 2 Cor 5:11-6:2
Apr 26 Wed of 2nd Week of Easter Revelation 3:7-13 1 John 2:28-3:3
Apr 27 Thu of 2nd Week of Easter Revelation 3:14-22 1 John 3:4-10
Apr 28 Fri of 2nd Week Easter Revelation 4:1-11 1 John 3:11-18
Apr 29 Catherine of Siena. Mem. 1vsp. Revelation 5:1-5 Isaiah 49:1-7
Luke 24:13-35
Apr 30 Third Sunday of Easter 1 Cor 11:23-29 Philippians 2:1-11
May 1 Joseph the Worker. OptMem. Genesis 2:4b-9, 15 2 Thess 3:6-13
May 2 Athanasius. Mem. Revelation 5:6-14 1 John 3:19-24
May 3 Philip and James. Feast. Acts 8:4-13 2 Cor 6:1-10
May 4 Thu of 3rd Week of Easter Revelation 6:1-6 1 John 4:1-6
May 5 Fri of 3rd Week of Easter Revelation 6:12-17 1 John 4:7-12
May 6 Sat of 3rd Week of Easter. 1vsp. Revelation 7:1-8 Ezekiel 34:20-31
John 10:1-10
May 7 Fourth Sunday of Easter Isaiah 40:9-11 Romans 8:28-39
May 8 Mon of 4th Week of Easter Revelation 7:9-17 1 John 4:13-21
May 9 Tue of 4th Week of Easter Revelation 8:1-13 1 John 5:1-5
May 10 Wed of 4th Week of Easter Revelation 9:1-12 1 John 5:6-12
May 11 Cluniac Abbots. Mem. Revelation 9:13-21 1 John 5:13-21
May 12 Fri of 4th Week of Easter Revelation 10:1-11 2 John 1-13
May 13 Sat of 4th Week of Easter. 1vsp. Revelation 11:1-14 2 Cor 5:1-10
John 14:1-12
May 14 Fifth Sunday of Easter Isaiah 43:1-7 Hebrews 1:1-4
May 15 Pachomius. Mem. Revelation 11:15-19 1 Peter 1:1-9
May 16 Tue of 5th Week of Easter Revelation 12:1-9 1 Peter 1:10-16
May 17 Wed of 5th Week of Easter Revelation 12:10-18 1 Peter 1:17-25
May 18 Thu of 5th Week of Easter Revelation 13:1-10 1 Peter 2:1-5
May 19 Fri of 5th Week of Easter Revelation 13:11-18 1 Peter 2:6-10
May 20 Sat of 5th Week of Easter. 1vsp. Revelation 14:1-13 Galatians 5:13-18
John 14:15-21
May 21 Sixth Sunday of Easter Romans 8:1-11 1 Cor 13:1-13
May 22 Mon of 6th Week of Easter Revelation 14:14-20 1 Peter 2:11-17
May 23 Tue of 6th Week of Easter Revelation 15:1-8 1 Peter 3:8-12
May 24 Wed of 6th Week of Easter 1vspOA Revelation 16:1-11 Matthew 28:16-20
May 25 Ascension of Lord. Sol. 1 Cor 15:44b-58 Colossians 3:1-4
May 26 Fri of 6th Week of Easter Revelation 16:12-21 1 Peter 3:13-22
May 27 Sat of 6th Week of Easter. 1vsp. Revelation 19:1-10 2 Cor 3:1-18
John 17:1-11a
May 28 Seventh Sunday of Easter Ephesians 1:17-23 Colossians 3:12-17
May 29 Mon of 7th Week of Easter Revelation 19:11-21 1 Peter 4:1-6
May 30 Tue of 7th Week of Easter Revelation 20:1-10 1 Peter 4:7-11
May 31 Visitation of Mary. Feast Isaiah 52:7-10 Song 2:8-14
June 1 Justin, Martyr. Mem. Revelation 20:11-21:6 1 Peter 4:12-19
June 2 Fri of 7th Week of Easter Revelation 21:9-21 1 Peter 5:1-5
June 3 Charles Lwanga & Comp. Mem. 1vspOA Revelation 21:22-22:7 Joel 3:1-5
John 20:19-23
June 4 Pentecost. Sol. OA Romans 8:14-27 Ephesians 1:3-14

*OA means Office of the Abbot in which the Abbot or Prioress serves as prayer leader.

Ninth Week in Ordinary time and First Week of the Psalter begin June 5th.

©2017 Benedictine Sisters, Mount St. Scholastica, Inc., Atchison, KS