Readings for the Liturgy of the Hours
at Mount St. Scholastica 

December 2014, Cycle B, Year 1

Readings are taken from the New Revised Standard Version of the Bible. Where there is a difference in verse numbers, NAB refers to the New American Bible.

First Week of the Psalter begins at Evening Praise on November 30th.

DateLiturgical CalendarMorning PraiseEvening Praise
Nov 29 Vigil of First Sunday of Advent -- Isaiah 43:1-7
Mark 13:33-37
Nov 30 First Sunday of Advent 1 Thess 5:1-11 Romans 13:11-14
Dec 1 Mon of 1st Week of Advent Isaiah 40:1-11 Ruth 1:1-18
Dec 2 Tues of 1st Week of Advent Isaiah 40:12-17 Ruth 1:19-2:7
Dec 3 Francis Xavier, Mem. Isaiah 40:18-24 Ruth 2:8-23
Dec 4 Thu of 1st Week of Advent Isaiah 40:25-31 Ruth 3:1-18
Dec 5 Fri of 1st Week of Advent Isaiah 41:14-20 Ruth 4:1-22
Dec 6 Sat of 1st Week of Advent Isaiah 42:1-9 Malachi 3:1-4, 22-24
[NRSV 3:1-4; 4:4-6]
Mark 1:1-8
Dec 7 Second Sunday of Advent, 2vsp. Ezekiel 33:1-9
[NRSV 2:28-32]
Joel 3:1-5
Dec 8 Immaculate Conception  Isaiah 61:10-62:5 Revelation 21:1-5
Dec 9 Tue of 2nd Week of Advent Isaiah 42:10-16 1 Chron 11:1-9
Dec 10 Wed of 2nd Week of Advent Isaiah 43:1-13 1 Chron 13:1-14
Dec 11 Thu of 2nd Week of Advent Isaiah 44:1-8 1 Chron 16:1-3, 37-43
Dec 12 Our Lady of Guadalupe. Feast Sirach 24:13-22 Ephesians 4:1-16
Dec 13 Lucy, Mem. Isaiah 44:21-28 Deut 18:15-19
John 1:6-8, 19-28
Dec 14 Third Sunday of Advent 2 Cor 3:4-13 Phil 1:12-26
Dec 15 Mon of 3rd Week of Advent Isaiah 45:1-8 Chron 17:1-15
Dec 16 Tue of 3rd Week of Advent Isaiah 45:9-13 1 Chron 17:16-27
- O Antiphons begin tomorrow at Morning Praise - -
Dec 17 Wed of 3rd Week of Advent Isaiah 45:18-21 1 Chron 28:1-10
Dec 18 Thu of 3rd Week of Advent Isaiah 46:1-10 1 Chron 29:20-31
Dec 19 Fri of 3rd Week of Advent Isaiah 48:12-22 2 Chron 1:1-13
Dec 20 Sat of 3rd Week of Advent Isaiah 49:1-7 Zephaniah 3:14-20
Luke 1:26-38
Dec 21 Fourth Sunday of Advent Micah 5:1-4a
[NRSV 5:2-5A]
Rev 11:19-12:12
Dec 22 Mon of 4th Week of Advent Isaiah 49:8-13 2 Chron 5:1-14
Dec 23 Mon of 4th Week of Advent Isaiah 54:1-10 2 Chron 6:1-17
Dec 24 Wed of 4th Week of Advent Isaiah 55:1-13 --
Vigil of Christmas, OA   - Isaiah 40:1-11
Isaiah 52:7-10
John 1:1-18
Dec 25 Birth of the Lord. Solemnity Titus 3:4-7 1 John 3:1-3
Dec 26 Stephen, First Martyr Jeremiah 1:4-10 Colossians 1:1-14
Dec 27 John, Apostle. Feast. 1 John 5:1-13 Luke 2:22-40
Dec 28 Holy Family. Feast Ephesians 3:14-4:6 RB 72
Dec 29 Fifth Day Octave Christmas Song of Songs 1:1-11 Col 1:15-23
Dec 30 Sixth Day Octave Christmas Song of Songs 1:1-11 Colossians 1:24-2:5
Dec 31 Seventh Day Oct Christmas. 1vsp OA Song 2:8-17 Luke 2:16-21

*OA means Office of the Abbot in which the Abbot or Prioress serves as prayer leader.

©2014 Benedictine Sisters, Mount St. Scholastica, Inc., Atchison, KS